top of page

The first days

After a long flight, I arrived in Cayenne. My copromotor, Lore, picked me up and we drove to the Campus agronomique de Kourou. On the campus site I got a key for a house. The first thing I noticed were the cockroaches, a little lugubrious, but I'm getting used to them. Other visitors are mice and geckos.

The day after, I went to the forest for my first thesiswork. The fieldsite, Paracou, is a nice tropical forest, but hunting is allowed, so there are not a lot of animals. I did see an agouti (big rodent that looks like a small deer), which also lives on our campus, but this was a different species. Later I will give more explanation on my thesis topic. I don't have any pictures of the rainforest yet, because it was hard work and I was busy hitting the mosquitos from me.

This weekend we're just chilling, yesterday we went to the zoo (there we could see what was around us in the forest, but never see through the thick foliage). And today we're doing nothing, but tonight we will make it cosy and all eat together.

I noticed that my zoomlens is broken, so I don't have good pictures yet, but here is an impression.

Ocelot in the zoo

Toucan in the zoo

Bats

Toucan in the zoo

Agouti

Spider on the campus

Spider on the campus


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page