top of page

Random, but epic stuff

My job here in Frech Guiana is almost finished. This Friday Kris and me leave for a trip to Saül and Suriname! But here are some last pictures of the things I saw during my stay in Kourou.


One of my dreams came true, to actually see a rocket going into space! It lasted only a few seconds until it vanished in the clouds, but a little later it appeared again behind us and you could spot the two fuel tanks falling of with the naked eye. This rocket was an Ariane 5 model and was aimed for the International Space Station (ISS).


(c) Lore Verryckt

The rocket left some art behind.

Here's a video of the launch:

In and around the campus we saw some other beautiful creatures:

Pretty spider: Arrow-shaped Micrathena

A leaf-shaped frog in Paracou

I could just watch these ants all day, they're epic!

Stick insect!

A really pretty butterfly, sadly I wanted to get it out of the house and seconds later it was eaten by one of the flycatcher birds :(

This tarantula was very sweet and tender, believe it or not, I almost cuddled it.

Some massive longhorn beetle.

The happiest spider I ever saw!

We found this leftover of a leaf coverd in fungi, which results in this weird thing.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
Er zijn nog geen tags.
Search By Tags
Archive
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page